Scenes Through a Dirty Windshield #5 – Vancouver to Kamloops via the “Smokequahalla”

NOTE: This post contains slideshows and if you are reading it on your phone, it is best viewed direct from the SITE, rather than in the READER.

All photos taken on July 24, 2021.

Our parking meter and visiting time both expired at 2:00 P.M. We said our goodbyes and headed back on the road, bound for Kamloops for the night.

Our path out of Vancouver went via Hastings Street and then over the Port Mann Bridge and onto the Transcanada Highway, bound for Hope. On the way, we caught a perfect view of Mount Baker.

We gassed up at Bridal Falls and continued on our way to Hope, where we would turn North on the Coquihalla Highway #5. This highway, originally opened as a toll road on May 16, 1986. The tolls continued until 2005, when the construction and maintenance cost were at last fully funded. The distance between Hope and Kamloops using this route is 203 km. Many portions of this road have a 120 k/h (75 m/h) speed limit, so the time between points is 1 hour and 56 minutes, rather than the 3 hours and 9 minutes it would take via Highway 1 or the almost 6 hours it would take to go via the Okanagan.

Signs warned about restricted vision on the highway due to forest fire smoke, so we wondered what delays that would bring, At the Southern end, the skies were clear and we rolled on to the Britton Creek rest stop (first slide). After that point, we could see the smoke levels increasing and start to feel the smoke’s effects on our throats and eyes.

We zoomed onward, up and down the passes and into and out of smoke zones. In places, we could see fire fighting ground crews setting up.

In other places, helicopters spun up and down overhead, loading their buckets from the nearby lakes in an attempt to douse the flames.

One last summit into the smoke and we were down into Kamloops. Forecast for tonight—-dark and smoky.

Published by kagould17

Not much to tell. After working for 3 companies over 43+ years (38 years 7 months with my last company), I finally got that promotion I had waited my entire career for……retirement. I have been exploring this new career for the past 7+ years and while it is not always exciting, the chance to do what I want for myself and my family instead of what my company wants has been very fulfilling. Early on, there was a long list of projects in my “to-do” hopper and I attacked these projects with a vengeance for the first 9 months of retirement. Eventually, my brain told me that this was not what retirement was about, so it took me another 5 months before my industriousness again took over and I attacked another line of projects, this time somewhat shorter and less complicated, as well as many new projects related to the family weddings in 2016. After going hard for 6 weeks and 3 weddings, my body was telling me to relax, then the flu bug hit and as soon as that was done with me, my sciatic acted up. No rest for the wicked. In 2020 and 2021, the Covid 19 pandemic changed the whole retirement gig. I was lucky to not be still working, for sure. I enjoy photography, gardening, working with my hands, walking, cycling, skiing, travelling, reading and creating special photo and video productions obtained in my first pastime. I may never become wealthy in any of these pursuits, but I already feel I am rich in life experiences far beyond any expectation.

21 thoughts on “Scenes Through a Dirty Windshield #5 – Vancouver to Kamloops via the “Smokequahalla”

    1. It was the thickest we saw on our trip and the furious efforts of the fire fighters were in full evidence along our route. The wildfire season is now over in B.C., but 210 fires continue to burn. Thanks for reading Lyssy. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks John. A week after we got home, the route we took was closed for a day due to the forest fires. We did not have as much smoke in our area this year. Most fires seemed to be in BC. Thanks for reading. Have a great week. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Good thing you didn’t do that at night! When the Camp Fire was happening in California, I left my dorm at university and went home when classes were cancelled. I went home by Lyft and I did it when it was dark. It was scary because traffic was going slower and the roads were clogged. What would normally be a 20 minute drive (with no traffic, which never happens in the Bay Area) took about an hour. I was so glad I wasn’t driving! Intially, my parents and I thought of getting out of the Bay Area with all the smoke, but I talked them out of it! It was too dangerous to drive!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. Mind you sunset was close to 9:30 PM at that time. Driving at night in smoke is no fun, as you found out. I hear you on the Bay Area traffic. It was a nightmare whenever we were visiting. People in Alberta who complain about traffic, do not know traffic. Hoping for a less smoky year in 2022. Thanks for reading. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, when you’re far up north, sun sets later in the summer lol. When I was in Lyft, it was November, right before American Thanksgiving and even though sunrise and sunset times don’t differ too drastically, there was enough of a difference then. Bay Area drivers are in a class of their own. And I agree when I hear people complain about traffic here, I’m like, “What?” I guess we’ll find out what happens in 2022. I have learned not to get ahead of myself with these things or I just end up disappointed

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Let’s hope we get a bit more snow (did I really say that) and some April showers this year to replenish the area after the last few years of drought. So glad they are making progress on getting the fires out. Thanks for reading Lynette. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Interesting read my friend but I find upsetting. Great photographs. The smoke is pretty bad. Did you ever get worried about the fire at anytime. I can’t imagine being a fire fire. So frightening. My friend who is currently in Montana has some smoke at their cabin. I wonder if the fires are going to just keep getting worse. So many trees getting destroyed. Thank you for sharing these photos. Sounds like you got out of there just in time. Stay safe my friend. 🤗Joni

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This process of forest renewal has been going on for millennia. The problem now is that man has decided he likes to have houses and cities in the forested mountains and it is no longer just the trees that burn. The current climate change cycle is also aggravating things with more and larger fires and hotter and drier summers. In a lot of cases, fires are started by humans with carelessly discarded cigarettes, illegal or improperly supervised campfires and sparks from car exhausts or train wheels. There are even cases where arsonists set a fire deliberately to attract attention. I know it is a silly thing to ask for, but other than the shovelling I would not mind a snowy winter and a wet spring if it would ease the situation. Hopefully, our next trip will be a bit less smoky. Thanks for reading Joni. Hugs to you and your family. 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think your requests are very reasonable indeed my friend. It is such a sad situation. The trees destroyed in the Amazon and the ancient trees in California make me honestly sick to my stomach. Haiti is completely deforested and it is a horrific situation for those who live there. I will not be here to see the worst of what is to come but my three adopted grandchildren from Haiti will be. We have acted to late in my opinion all ready. I am sorry you got stuck in smoke. Please be careful fire frightens me. I love all your adventures. Thank you for the hugs back and we send hopes for less fire smoke and rain. Hugs 🤗 to your family my friend. 🦋❤️

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you got away to the East. It will be a while before we get back there, because we are not driving that far again and we are certainly not ready to fly yet. We figured we could handle family visits a closer drive to home. Thanks for the follow. Enjoy the rest of the week. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amazing to see these photos. Forest fires are something I only ever see and hear about on TV briefly on the news. As others have said, it’s just sad and devastating on the people directly affected. Glad to hear your route wasn’t closed, stay safe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it is better to see it on TV than in person. We have friends in the Okanagan who were on evacuation alert for a few days. The whole area is hot and dry during the summer and this year it took a toll. Thanks for reading and chiming in Leighton. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started