Obstacles!

All photos taken on January 24, 2023.

After our stop for bison viewing, we drove on toward Beaver Pond Loop for the first of two winter walks. We chose this day, as temperatures were supposed to climb above freezing later in the week. We did not wish to encounter wet or slippery conditions. Little did we know the road block we would face near the end.

Please use this WordPress Reader URL https://photodrop8.wordpress.com/2024/04/13/obstacles/ to access the full post.

Non WordPress Users, use this URL https://wordpress.com/post/photodrop8.wordpress.com/2641 to access the full post.

Published by kagould17

Not much to tell. After working for 3 companies over 43+ years (38 years 7 months with my last company), I finally got that promotion I had waited my entire career for……retirement. I have been exploring this new career for the past 7+ years and while it is not always exciting, the chance to do what I want for myself and my family instead of what my company wants has been very fulfilling. Early on, there was a long list of projects in my “to-do” hopper and I attacked these projects with a vengeance for the first 9 months of retirement. Eventually, my brain told me that this was not what retirement was about, so it took me another 5 months before my industriousness again took over and I attacked another line of projects, this time somewhat shorter and less complicated, as well as many new projects related to the family weddings in 2016. After going hard for 6 weeks and 3 weddings, my body was telling me to relax, then the flu bug hit and as soon as that was done with me, my sciatic acted up. No rest for the wicked. In 2020 and 2021, the Covid 19 pandemic changed the whole retirement gig. I was lucky to not be still working, for sure. I enjoy photography, gardening, working with my hands, walking, cycling, skiing, travelling, reading and creating special photo and video productions obtained in my first pastime. I may never become wealthy in any of these pursuits, but I already feel I am rich in life experiences far beyond any expectation.

4 thoughts on “Obstacles!

  1. You had me in fits of laughter there at the end, Allan. Who would have thought that having a buffalo obstructing your way could actually be so much fun, rather than perhaps terrifying. Great shots of the creature and all the snowy beauty along the way. Walks through the fluffy and barely disturbed snow enjoying the quiet is one the life’s great joys.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If that had not worked, we would have had to traverse across one of the ponds. Good thing it was still cold and the ice was solid. I should have apologized to the bison for harshing his mellow. It was a peaceful day, far from the sound of vehicle traffic noises. Thanks for reading Leighton. Allan

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It is truly amazing how quiet such a large animal can be. All we could hear from him when we stopped was the ripping and chewing of grass. Ha Ha. Bison tend to leave their “calling cards” on the trails, so at least you can tell they are walking the same paths. My voice is one reason I will never do karaoke….again. Happy Monday Lyssy. Allan

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started